Limestone County Fair Association is named Organization of the Year

By Tom Hawkins

The Limestone County Fair Association has been named Organization of the Year for 2017 by the Groesbeck Chamber of Commerce. The award will be officially presented on this Thursday night at the annual Chamber banquet.

The Limestone County Fair Association, which was founded in 200l, sponsors the annual Limestone County Fair and Youth Livestock Show each spring at the Limestone County Fairgrounds.

The Limestone County Youth Fair and Livestock Show include divisions for various types of livestock, an Ag mechanic division, and a Consumer & Family Life division.

Limestone County students may enter the following categories in the Livestock Show: lambs, goat, heifers, steers, horses, hogs, chickens, turkeys, and rabbits.

The animals, which place, are sold at the Livestock Show auction which is held at the conclusion of the show. Animals, which do not place, may be sold during the auction at the animals' floor price. The grand champion items in the Consumer & Family Service division are also available in the auction.

The Limestone County Fair Association gives three sizeable scholarships to each of the high schools in Limestone County each spring.

In presenting this award to the Limestone County Fair Association, the Chamber of Commerce noted the positive image that the County Fair creates for local people and also draws numerous visitors to Groesbeck and Limestone County each spring.

Through the sponsorship of the annual Livestock Show, the Fair Association helps to create a great interest in agriculture-related projects among the youth of the county.

This year’s show will begin on April 13 with the barbecue cook-off and concert on April 14. The actual Youth Livestock Show will be on April 19th, 20th, and 21st.  Watch for a complete schedule of the 2018 Limestone County Fair and Youth Livestock Show in the near future.

The officers of the Limestone County Fair Association are Ty deCordova, president; Robert Rader, vice-president; Deane Rand, secretary; Greg Goodrum, recording secretary; and Tiffany Burleson, treasurer.

The Board of Directors includes the following: Keith Rand, Jordan Wietzikoski, Clinton Little, Joe Tyus, Holly Wagner, Mitzi Eaves, Kellan Mathis, Kevin Ensminger, Traci Hughes, and Ashley Standfield.

Congratulations to the Limestone County Fair Association and thanks for the great job you do for Limestone County and especially the youth of Limestone County.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362