Groesbeck ISD Educators of the Year named 

By Tom Hawkins, Editor Emeritus

Each year, the Groesbeck Chamber of Commerce honors an educator from each of the four campuses of the Groesbeck Independent School District. The four honorees are elected by the faculties and staffs of the respective campuses.

This year, the teachers of the year have a wide range of backgrounds. One of the honorees grew up in Groesbeck and has lived her most of her life. However, another honoree grew up and taught in Romania.

The Groesbeck Chamber of Commerce gives the awards to point out the importance of education and a good school system to a community and its people.

The four GISD Educators of the Year will be presented their awards at the Chamber banquet on this Thursday night. The principal of each campus will present the plaques to the honorees.

The Educators of the Year for 2017 are Janeece Bolton, H. O. Whitehurst Elementary School; Heidi Johnson, Enge-Washington Intermediate School; Daniela O’Docharty, Groesbeck Middle School; and Debra Brown, Groesbeck High School.

To read more of this story, pick up a copy of Thursday's edition of The Groesbeck Journal! You can also subscribe online or call 254-729-5103.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362