Candidate filing for City, School, Hospital elections now underway

By Tom Hawkins (Staff Writer Alexandra Cannon contributed to this story)

Candidate filing is now underway for the Groesbeck City Council, the Groesbeck Independent School District Board of Trustees, and the Board of Directors of the South Limestone Hospital District. Election Day is Saturday, May 5. Candidate filing began Wednesday, January 17, and will end on February 16.

The voters of the City of Groesbeck will elect a mayor and three members of the City Council in May. Ray O’Docharty is currently serving as Groesbeck mayor. The incumbent city council members, whose terms for up for election, are Matthew Dawley, Tamika Jackson, and Mike Thompson. The positions of mayor and city council members are two year terms. Candidate filing for the city election is taking place in the Groesbeck City Hall in the office of Groesbeck City Secretary Brenda Jackson. Ray O’Docharty is running for Mayor in hopes of being re-elected. Matthew Dawley, Tamika Jackson and Mike Thompson are all running for re-election as City Council members.

Three positions are to be elected to the Groesbeck ISD school board. Places to be elected are representatives from Single Member District 3 (Tom Sutton, incumbent), Single Member District 4 (Randy Hunter, incumbent), and Single Member District 5 (Aslone Foy, incumbent).

Tom Sutton has filed for reelection for Single Member District 3. Jud Hughes has filed as a candidate for Single Member District 4. Dr. Garry Dossey and Aslone Foy have filed as a candidates for Single Member District 5.

Groesbeck ISD school board candidate filing is being conducted in the Administrative Office of the school district with these offices being located on the campus of Groesbeck High School. To pick up filing packets contact Teresa Battrick or Tammy Rand. As of this Monday morning no additional candidates had filed.

Three positions will be elected to the South Limestone Hospital District Board of Directors on May 5. Limestone Medical Center is under the authority of the South Limestone Hospital District. Board positions 1, 2 and 5 are to be elected this year. Position 1 is currently held by Glenda O’Neal, Position 2 by Joe L. Phillips, and Position 5 by Danny Hewitt.

As of this Monday morning no candidates had filed.

Filing for the Hospital Board is being conducted in the Chief Executive Office of the Limestone Medical Center, 701 McClintic Drive, Groesbeck, Texas.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362