Several County and state offices to be elected in 2018

By Tom Hawkins

With the November 7th election not too far in the background, the New Year, 2018, will feature some important elections.

The first primary election will be held on March 6, 2018. Several Limestone County officials as well as numerous state offices will be elected in the upcoming year.

The Limestone County officials to be elected next year will include the following:

*County Judge

*District Clerk

*County Clerk

*County Treasurer

*County Commissioner, Precinct 2

*County Commissioner, Precinct 4

*Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1

*Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2

*Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3

*Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4

Candidate filing began on November 11th and will end on December 11th at 6 p.m.

Candidates seeking these positions should be up a packet from the Limestone County Elections Administrator Jennifer Southard with her office being located in the Courthouse basement. However, the candidates should file with the chairman of their respective political party.

Lance Phillips is the Limestone County Republican Party Chairman. His address is 310 South Ross, Mexia, Texas 76667, and his phone number is 254-562-2635.

Adam Collect is the Limestone County Democratic Party Chairman. His address is 4001 FM 937, Groesbeck, Texas 76642, and his phone number is 254-747-1086.

Also on the local level the position of the 87th District Judge will be up for election in 2018.

The first primary election on March 6, 2018, will feature numerous candidates for all 36 United States Representatives from Texas; one U. S. Senator from Texas; 15 Texas Senators; and all 150 State Representatives to the Texas House of Representatives.

Other very important races in the government for the State of Texas in 2018 include the following:

Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Comptroller of Public Accounts, Commissioner of General Land Office, Commissioner of Agriculture, Railroad Commissioners, 3 members of the Supreme Court, 3 members of the Court of Criminal  Appeals, 7 members of the State Board of Education, 5 Chief Justice of Court of Appeals, and various Court of Appeal Justices.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362