May News Briefs from the Texas Historical Commission



The Texas Historical Commission (THC) offers awards to recognize worthy accomplishments and exemplary leadership in the preservation of Texas history and heritage. The THC is now accepting nominations for the following historic preservation awards: Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation, John L. Nau, III Award of Excellence in Museums, Ruth Lester Lifetime Achievement Award, John Ben Shepperd County Historical Commission Leadership Award, George Christian Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award, Curtis D. Tunnell Lifetime Achievement Award in Archeology, Anice B. Read Award of Excellence in Community Heritage Development, THC Award of Excellence in Preserving History, THC Award of Excellence in Historic Architecture, and THC Award of Excellence in Media Achievement.

The deadline for submissions for the 2018 THC Preservation Awards is July 13, 2018. Winners of the awards will be decided at the Commission's October 2018 Quarterly Meeting, and all nominees will be notified of their status shortly afterward.

To read more of this story, pick up a copy of Thursday's edition of The Groesbeck Journal! You can also subscribe online or call 254-729-5103.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362