• Journal file photo
    Groesbeck’s Cameron Sellstrom - varsity head baseball coach - shown at this past summer’s baseball camp, will be a part of the Blue baseball team coaching staff at this year’s Fellowship of Christian Athletes Super Centex Victory Bowl festivities. The Blue team will go up against the Red team on the diamond at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor on Friday night, June 8, at 6:30 p.m.

The 2018 Fellowship of Christian Athletes Super Centex Victory Bowl

Journal Staff Report

The 2018 Fellowship of Christian Athletes Super Centex Victory Bowl coaching staffs were announced on Saturday, Jan. 13, at their office headquarters in Waco.

Coaches for the Blue football team will be Marty Herbst (Waco), Troy Rogers (Lampasas), Walt Brock (Granger), Cody Fagan (Mildred) and Steve Hoffman (Corsicana).

Blue volleyball coaches are Kelsi Reynolds (Robinson) and Natalie Friesen (Live Oak).

For the Blue baseball team, coaches will be Bryan Kent (Robinson), Cameron Sellstrom (Groesbeck) and Dean Fitzner (Jarrell), and for the Blue softball team, coaches are Aaron Kinney (Kerens), Drew Cleavinger (Lampasas) and Megan Nieuwenhuis (Rosebud-Lott).

Coaching staff for the Red football team will be Scott Stewart (Temple), Terry Crawford (Abbott), Jeremy Calahan (CTCS), Charles Steele (Covington) and Robert Little (Riesel).

Coaching for the Red volleyball team will be Rachel Melancon (Troy) and Shana Steinmetz (Italy).

Red baseball team coaching staff will consist of Dusty Brittain (Copperas Cove), Taylor Rowe (Bremond) and Kyle Stone (Mart).

For the Red softball team, the coaches will be Andrea Holdbrook (McGregor), Mike Carranza (Holy Trinity) and Lisa Czajkowski (China Spring).

This year, golf will be one of the new sports added to the weekend events. Coaching for the Blue golf team are Carl Thomas (University) and Sara Mabile (Waco). For the Red golf team, coaches will be Landon Wesley (Temple) and Harvie Welch (Midway).

Cheer squads will be led again by Tammy Bush (Riesel) and Patricia Leach (Hamilton).

Participants for this year’s Victory Bowl teams will be announced to the public on Feb. 11 at Highland Baptist Church in Waco.

The Inaugural Golf Tournament will be played on June 5, followed by the 3rd Annual Victory Bowl baseball and softball games on June 8, at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor at 6:30 p.m.

On June 9, the 5th Annual Victory Bowl volleyball game will take place once again at University High School, beginning at 12:30 p.m. and closing out the evening is the 10th Annual Victory Bowl football game at Waco ISD Stadium, with kick off set for 6:30 p.m.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362