• Ameer Lee
  • Brayden Bradley
  • Ethan Davis
  • Grant Johnson
  • Landen Frazier
  • Nick Mosley
  • Ty Hale

Goats honored with all-district football awards

By Stephen R. Farris, Sports Editor

The Groesbeck Goats landed over half the team on this year’s 9-3A 2017 All-District football teams, as the list was announced late last week.

Athlete Ameer Lee (Jr.) was honored with the superlative award as he was named Co-Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Lee led the Goats in rushing with 120 carries for 732 yards and seven touchdowns. He also caught 31 passes for 372 yards and three touchdowns and ended the season with 1,336 all-purpose yards, which included the offensive stats and stats from kickoff, punt and interception returns.

Joining Lee on the superlative list was junior Grant Johnson, who was named Co-Punter.

Making first team all-district from the Goats was junior quarterback Ty Hale, senior inside linebacker Brayden Bradley, senior defensive end Nick Mosley, senior outside linebacker Landen Frazier and senior safety Ethan Davis.

Hale finished the 2017 season with 209 completions on 324 attempts for 2,573 yards and 20 touchdowns with a QB rating of 103.1.

Bradley led the Groesbeck defense with 82 total tackles, caused two fumbles, recorded three QB sacks and blocked a field goal. Mosley ended up with 68 total tackles, seven sacks, caused a fumble and recovered a fumble. Frazier also made 68 total tackles, had four sacks, caused a fumble and recovered a fumble. Davis made 52 total tackles and finished with a team leading four interceptions from his safety spot.

To read more of this story, pick up a copy of Thursday's edition of The Groesbeck Journal! You can also subscribe online or call 254-729-5103.

Groesbeck Journal

P.O. Box 440
Groesbeck, TX 76642
Phone: 254-729-5103
Fax: 254-729-0362